Beetroot-Apple-Soup

Hej!

Another recipe with beetroot…When I was a kid, I never really liked beetroot, this weird sweet but not sweet vegetable. “Your taste is gonna change when you grow up”- is what my mum used to say. I never believed it. It was not part of my imagination that I could ever like beetroot. EVER. Now I have to admit that I have to agree this typical phrase which annoys everybody in his youth. Because oh, look what happened, now I love beetroot!

Recently I was having a flue and I read about beetroot being good against flue so I wanted to try a recipe of a beetroot soup. I was a bit sceptic at first – a soup made almost just from beetroots. I didn’t expect it would taste so delicious. But it did. So I wanted to share the recipe:

Ingredients: (for 3-4 portions)

  • 370 g beetroot
  • 1 big sour apple (I used boskop)
  • 1 onion
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 300 ml vegetable stock
  • 200 ml apple juice
  • 100 ml oat creme
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • pumpkin seeds

Cut beetroots and apples and peeled onion into pieces (they can be quite big). Peel garlic and slice it with a garlic press. Heat oil in a pot and braise onion and garlic until slightly golden. Add beetroot and apple and braise them for some minutes. Add apple juice and stock. Boil up and simmer for 20 minutes until the beetroot is soft. Purée the soup and season with salt and pepper. Add oat creme and decorate with pumpkin seeds. Enjoy ♥


Leave a Reply

