Carrot Poppy Seed Easter Cake with Lemon Cream and Marzipan

Hej!

I know, it is probably a bit too late already, but I didn’t want to keep my new Easter cake recipe from you. This year I didn’t bake a cake for Easter Sunday so I decided to bake a belated one a few days later, anyway…The weather turned out to be awesome so we were lucky to enjoy this one outside in the garden. It is really moist and the mix of the two different doughs give it a nice look from inside as well. I also wanted to bake a carrot cake traditionally for Easter but a normal carrot cake would have been too boring so I mixed it with my all-time-favourite ingredient: poppy seeds!


Ingredients:

for the carrot dough (for a 24cm cake pan)

  • 2 eggs
  • 125g sugar
  • 100ml neutral oil (sunflower)
  • 100ml orange juice
  • 150g flour
  • 1/2 sachet baking powder
  • 200g grated carrots
  • 80g grounded almonds

for the poppy-seed dough:

  • 2 eggs
  • 125g sugar
  • 100ml neutral oil (I used sunflower)
  • 50 ml orange juice
  • 50ml cream
  • 80g poppy seeds
  • 150g flour
  • ½ sachet baking powder

for the lemon filling:

  • 250g cream cheese
  • 120g lemon marmalade or lemon curd
  • juice and peel of 1 lemon
  • 25g powdered sugar
  • 50g starch

for the decoration:

  • 400g marzipan
  • 50g powdered sugar
  • chocolate eggs
  • sliced almonds
  • store bought meringue

Beat 4 eggs and 250g of sugar until creamy and foamy (around 5 minutes with a mixer). Divide the mass in half.

For the carrot dough, add oil, orange juice and mix in. Mix flour with baking powder and add to the dough. Fold in carrots and grounded almonds.

For the poppy dough, add oil, orange juice and cream and mix in. Fold in the poppy seeds. Mix flour with baking powder and add to the dough.

Butter a 24 cm cake pan and fill in first the carrot dough, then the poppy dough. Bake in pre-heated oven in 180°C (air circulation) for around 50 minutes (test with a skewer and eventually cover the cake with tinfoil if it gets too dark from top). Take the cake out and let it cool down completely before you continue. I did mine the day before and let it rest overnight in the fridge…

Mix all the ingredients for the filling together until creamy. As the cake came out a bit uneven (it grew a little more in the middle) I cut the top even by positioning the knife in the outer edge and then carefully cutting horizontally to get an even surface. Then cut the cake in half (with a big knife or a thread) and fill it with a good part of the cream. Use the rest of the cream to cover the cake so the marzipan will stick more to it later on.

For the marzipan layer, first mix the marzipan with the powdered sugar, like a dough. Roll out the marzipan with a rolling pin on a plain surface covered with a bit of powdered sugar. I had to do this part a several time, as the marzipan mass would always stick to the ground. I succeeded finally by covering the working surface, the top of the dough and the rolling pin with powdered sugar. Every time I spread the mass a bit more I lifted the mass a bit and added powdered sugar again, to prevent it from sticking. My aim was to roll out the marzipan mass really thin to don’t make the cake taste so heavy (I think it was just around 0.2 cm thick). Lift the marzipan onto the cake and smooth the surface. Then to press the border close to the cake. I prevented folds by pulling and stretching the marzipan a bit down while pressing it to the cake. Start from the top and work your way forward to the bottom until all the cake is evenly covered. Cut the ‘left over’ marzipan with a knife (you can use it for decoration).

xy5b2IJ

Once the cake was covered, I decorated it with an Easter Bunny which I formed out of the leftover marzipan. I also rolled out the rest of the marzipan and cut out marzipan flowers with 2 different flower cookie cutters. To make them more 3-dimensional, I first put the bigger flower on a skewer, then the smaller one and then I pressed the blossoms a bit up. I added a sugar pearl in the middle. I also added sliced almonds, chocolate eggs, meringue and daisies (they are edible but I wouldn’t eat them as they don’t really taste that good..;)). Et voilà! ♥

yKuJx60

55FbvG7

Jpeg

Leave a Reply

