Vanilla Pudding Plum Cake with Nut Filling and Streusel

Hej!

When I am baking the most important thing for me is that it tastes good! I like traditional cakes because I think they are way more tasty than those new hipster cakes full of artificial colours and sugar which can look really pretty (I have to admit) but they will not taste the same. Of course I also want my cakes to look good and I will not only use healthy ingredients all the time as I also like to try out new things but I hope you get my idea :). This time I tried to make a cake with a combination of ingredients which I really like and it ended up in this really nice vanilla pudding plum cake with a nut filling which I made the other day.  The cake is really moist and crunchy with the streusel at the same time! It also looks really rustic and is made in a traditional German way.

Here comes my recipe to share it with you…

image002

Ingredients (for a 26cm cake pan)

  • 375g flour
  • 225g butter
  • 180g sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • peel of 2 lemons

for the filling

  • 3/4l milk
  • 2 packages of vanilla pudding powder
  • 500g fresh plums
  • 1 egg white
  • 550g Nussfülle (nut filling) → see extra recipe

Nussfülle

  • 300 g grounded nuts (I used hazel and almond)
  • 120 g icing sugar
  • 120 g honey
  • 5 tablespoons rum
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 sachet vanilla sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon

icing sugar


How to prepare the Nussfülle:

Mix all ingredients and let the mass rest for one hour. If then the filling is still too solid to spread, you can add a little rum or water.

How to prepare the cake:

Melt the butter in a pot and let it cool down a bit.Butter schmelzen und etwas abkühlen lassen. Mix flour, egg yolks, sugar, lemon peel and butter until you have a crumbly dough and press a bit more than half of it with your fingers in the cake pan. Also cover a bit of the side of the cake pan. Prepare pudding with the amount of milk from this recipe according to the usual instruction and let it cool down a bit. Mix around 1/3 of the pudding to the Nussfülle. Beat the egg whites. Gently fold the egg whites in the Nussfülle. Spread the Nussfülle onto the dough and cover with washed and sliced plums. Mix the rest of the streusel with cinnamon and spread on the cake.
Bake in 180°C for around 1 hour and cover cake with tin foil after half hour.
When the cake is cooled down, sprinkle with icing sugar.

I hope you like it! ♥

image003 - Copy

image005

 

Leave a Reply

